nineloha.blogg.se

I had a melancholy malody
I had a melancholy malody




i had a melancholy malody

“Min Jee!” the voice called again, now a bit louder. “Oh god, please let her not be hurt” the same voice mumbled, and I could slowly feel how someone shook me lightly by my shoulders. “Min Jee, wake up, Min Jee!” a panicked voice broke into the darkness, making me slowly come back to reality. I ran the fastest as I could back to my room, as my parents shouted ‘Mara? Charlie?’ as I heard the doors swung open. I could hear how both of them got up from their chairs, and a loud ‘bang’ when the sweet music stopped to play. But just before it closed, it gave up a loud squeak. I was confused, as I hadn’t understood anything of what they had meant, and I slowly started to close the door again, hoping that they hadn’t seen me. Dad pulled her into his chest, hugging her as he whispered ‘I know’ into her hair. She looked back at him, before she started to sob with her hand covering, trying to muffle her cries. Does this mean…?” my mother said, letting the question hang into the air. Why was she sad? “We can’t let them get to us. “What are we going to do?” Mother whispered silently, and I now noticed that she had tears rolling down her cheeks. It was almost like they were scared of the box. The music was still playing its cheerful melody, but my parents’ faces were stiff, like if they were made out of rock. There was a beautiful drawing of what looked like a shield on the lid, and a swirling pattern ornamented its sides. It seemed to be made out of a translucent, wood-like material, and I could see every little shape of the many pinions moving inside. I got surprised to see my parents sitting and looking at the most amazing little music box I’ve seen in my whole life. I tried to open it as quiet as possible, as I peeked in through the small chink. Satisfied with that, I got up to once more start to reach for the door handle. My small brain worked hard, ending up on the solution that my curiosity was bigger than the feeling to obey my parents. I did not want to disobey my parents, but I wanted to reach the source of the music. I sat down on the carpet, trying to think of how I should solve it. The music was defiantly coming from inside the closed doors, so I had faced a problem. I stood there for a second, before I decided to lay my ear to the door, listening carefully. Dad and mom had told me not to enter if the doors were closed, but I wanted to know it the music came from there. So I started to make my way to the living room, but when I got there, I saw that the doors were closed. I ran to the kitchen, but it was the same there.

i had a melancholy malody

I looked into my brother’s room, which for once wasn’t closed but I couldn’t find anything interesting. The music was stronger now, but I still couldn’t make out where it came from. When I succeeded with opening the door, I got out into the hallway that led to the living room, my brother’s room and the kitchen. I was barely tall enough to manage to open it, but I had learned to stand in a specific angle as I stood on tiptoe, with my arm high up above me. I hummed quietly to the music, as I reached up to the door handle. Where did that music come from? I got down, feeling the smooth surface of our wooden floor underneath my small feet’s. I swung my legs over the edge of my bed, looking around. I opened my eyes, just to see the sun shine in through the open window. The flowing music from a music box did slowly make me wake up from my dreamless slumber.






I had a melancholy malody